Dogs Global möchte der Web-Treffpunkt für die vertrauenswürdigsten
und relevanten Informationen zur Erhaltung der Gesundheit von Hunden sein.
Finde uns auf Facebook und Twitter!

TRIFF DAS

TEAM TEAM TEAM TEAM TEAM TEAM

Card image cap
Dr. ir. Pieter Oliehoek (PhD)
Scientific Director & Software developer

Pieter ist seit seinem elften Lebensjahr in der Hundezucht tätig. Nach seinem Master in Biologie spezialisierte er sich auf die Erhaltung kleiner Tierpopulationen.

Pieter (P.A.) Oliehoek (PhD) ist seit seinem elften Lebensjahr in der Hundezucht tätig. Nach dem Abitur studierte er Biologie an der Universität Wageningen. Während dieses Kurses untersuchte er die Populationsgenetik von Hunderassen. Für den Islandhund analysierte er die gesamte Bevölkerung weltweit. Er war Mitglied des Vorstands des niederländischen Zuchtclubs sowie des ISIC: der Icelandic Sheepdog International Cooperation (www.icelanddog.org) während der späteren Gründung.

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss seines Masters arbeitete er mehrere Jahre für ein IKT-Unternehmen, wo er seine Fähigkeiten im Programmieren und Erstellen von Websites erweiterte. Aufgrund seiner Leidenschaft für die Erhaltung von Rassen kehrte er jedoch an die Universität Wageningen zurück, um eine Doktorarbeit über die Erhaltung der genetischen Vielfalt seltener einheimischer Rassen und gefährdeter Arten in Gefangenschaft zu starten.

2009 promovierte er und wandte anschließend die Theorie der Erhaltung von Genetik in Zoos an, um die Einschränkungen der täglichen Praxis in der Realität zu überwinden. Mean Kinship, das in Zoos verwendet wird, um genetische Vielfalt zu züchten, wurde eingeführt und auf die Hundewelt übertragen. Zu diesem Zweck gründete er Dogs Global, ein Unternehmen, das sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, die Gesundheit von Hunden durch den Austausch von Informationen über eine Website zu verbessern. Die einzigartige Kombination seiner IKT-Fähigkeiten und seines genetischen Wissens sind die Bausteine ​​dieser Organisation.

Cathrienke Brandt
Secretariat
Ana Luísa Lourenço
Diplomate European College of Veterinary and Comparative Nutrition (ECVCN)
João Santos
Software developer
Hugo Silva
Web developer

Dogs Global aims to be the web meeting point for the most trustworthy
and relevant information on how to maintain dogs health.
Find us on Facebook and Twitter!

MEET THE

TEAM TEAM TEAM TEAM TEAM TEAM

Card image cap
Dr. ir. Pieter Oliehoek (PhD)
Scientific Director & Software developer

Pieter has been engaged in dog breeding since the age of eleven. After Master in biology, he specialised in preservation of small animal populations.

Pieter (P.A.) Oliehoek (PhD) has been engaged in dog breeding since the age of eleven. After high school he studied biology at the Wageningen University. During this course, he investigated population genetics of dog breeds. For the Icelandic Dog, he analyzed the entire population worldwide. He participated in the board of the Dutch breed club as well as ISIC: the Icelandic Sheepdog International Cooperation (www.icelanddog.org) during the formation of the later.

After successfully completing his Masters, he worked for an ICT company for several years, where he extended his skills in programming and building websites. However, his passion for conservation of breeds made him return to the Wageningen University, to start a PhD research on the conservation of genetic diversity of rare domestic breeds and endangered species in captivity.

In 2009 he received his PhD after which he applied the theory of conservation genetics in zoos overcoming constrains of everyday practice in reality. Mean Kinship, which is used in zoos to breed for genetic diversity, was introduced and made applicable to the dog world. For this purpose he founded Dogs Global, a company that aims to improve dog health through sharing information through a website. The unique combination of his ICT skills and knowledge on genetic are the building blocks of this organization.

Click here to find the thesis on saving breeds and endangered species of dr. ir. P.A. Oliehoek.

Anneke Oliehoek
Project Manager
Cathrienke Brandt
Secretariat
Ana Luísa Lourenço
European Veterinary Specialist™
João Santos
Web developer
Hugo Silva
Web developer